Find It Now

1 I Need To...
2 Apply...
3 Apply Now

Apply for an accessory structure permit and zoning certificate

David A. Smith, Jr. Award - Building Department Excellence 2018

The City of Medina Building Department is honored to be the recipient for 2018 David A. Smith, Jr. Award for Building Department Excellence by the Ohio Department of Commerce Board of Building Standards.

Community Development Department, front left Shelley Johnson, Tom Cromer, Rick Bocek, Dan Gladish, Tami Morris, Barbara Dzur, back left Sandy Davis, Jonathan Mendel, Kimberly Marshall

Tim Galvin, Chair Ohio Board of Building Standards presenting the award to Dan Gladish, Chief Building Official.

The Ohio Board of Building Standards David A. Smith, Jr. Award is for Building Department Excellence. This award is to recognize the work of Certified Building Departments that exemplify the Board’s vision: To be a National Leader in promoting a Safer Built Environment for Ohio’s Citizens through Knowledge, Training, Customer & Public Service, and Technology.

About the Award: Dave Smith served on the Board of Building Standards as the Structural Engineer Member from 1994 until 2010.  He received his degree in Civil Engineering from the University of Akron in 1954. Dave’s long career in Code Enforcement began in 1958, when he worked as a Plans Examiner for the City of Akron.  In 1973, he was appointed to be the City of Akron’s Chief Building Official, a position which he held until he retired in 1995. Dave was also active in model Code Development and served on the BOCA Board of Directors from 1987 to 1993. Dave served as BOCA President and was one of the original signatories for incorporation of ICC.




Let's Stay Connected